Open now. Closing in about 6 hours.

(860) 827-8988
597 W Main St, New Britain, CT 06053

Reviews

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Ann March 3rd, 2015

Great Taste is one of my favorite places. I've been going there every since I was a teenager and the food and atmosphere has never changed. It's such a great place and I always recommend it to my friends and family. I'm looking forward to taking my husband there soon

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ John Zajac February 2nd, 2015

Outstanding service. Excellent food. Great value. After numerous visits, I have never been disappointed. John always greets us and makes us feel welcome. Derrick is the one of the best waiters that has ever sever us, he makes guests feel like they are at a five star restaurant in New York or Las Vegas. Great selection of appetizers, cold sesame noodles and chicken song are exceptional. On each visit we try a different entree, each was of the highest quality ingredients and excellently prepared. Definitely a destination restaurant

⭐️⭐️ anonym user January 1st, 2015

Great Taste has my favorite Chinese food, but I saw some bad situation happen in Saturday,it makes me have no appetite and home.There's only one waiter constantly clean up the tables,then another waiter also scolded him, I don't know what happened to them.It's really made my family feel very uncomfortable, I am very disappointed with the waiter

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ anonym user January 1st, 2015

Great Taste continues to be my favorite Chinese restaurant and restaurant in general.. Whether I am dining in or taking out, I am always treated so respectfully and with a smile. John is always there to great me when I walk in and really knows how to make me feel at home. The food is out of this world and for the quality - an amazing price. Thank you for never disappointing. I will continue being a customer and recommending you to all my family and friends. Wish you guys the best

⭐️ anonym user January 1st, 2015

GREAT TASTE was always one of my favorites. keyword was... they must have changed ownership,service was unacceptable,food so so, not anywhere near the quality I was used to.What a disappointment,had company from out of town,they were understaffed, waiters had a 'could care less attitude' party of 10,food came out in 3 different servings,and lukewarm,cocktails took 30 min. to get to us,second round came after the food,it was certainly not the 'GREAT TASTE' I was used to. Had to appologize to my guests for wanting to go there

⭐️ Diane December 12th, 2015

HORRIBLE service! We'll never go to this restaurant again! I made a reservation two weeks early, requesting the back room for 12. When we showed up on time, we were told our table was just given away and we could wait 30 minutes for them to "rush" another party out of the room. So ... we sat crammed together at a table in the dining room where we had water spilled on one of the guests, water spilled all over the table when they dropped a plate, and had tongs hit us when they lost control of them. It took over 20 minutes for a waiter to acknowledge we were even there. The drinks and food were all delayed, and half the food came out 15 minutes later than the first half -- barely warm. We spoke to the manager who offered no help whatsoever. All in all, a terrible experience we'll never repeat. P.S. I only picked one star because I had to, to save this review. They earned ZERO stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ sam December 12th, 2014

Great Taste is a fantastic restaurant. I am always greeted with a warm smile and quickly ushered to an incredibly clean, beautifully appointed table. Right away I am put at ease by a very comfortable atmosphere and a very attentive staff. It is not obnoxiosly loud (like many other restaurants with competing stereo systems and TV's), instead it is very calming and very relaxing. You are quickly brought ice water and hot tea, along with egg noodles and sweet or hot dipping sauces. Choosing from the menu is always difficult for me because everything looks so good. Some good choices to try are 'Mount Fuji', which includes beef, chicken, pork, and seafood in a wonderful sauce... or 'Dragon Meets Phoenix'... a beautiful dish of General Tsao's chicken with Jumbo Shrimp and assorted vegetables. This restaurant continues to get it right, providing all the elements I expect from a top notch restaurant: Atmosphere, Attentive Staff, Value, and incredible food taste/quality. I highly recommend Great Taste..

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ john October 10th, 2014

i have to say... this is hands down the best chinese food in ct! i cant say its the best ive ever eaten, but it is pretty close! the prices are a little steep for what your getting! the best chinese food in my opinion comes from new york. but being a ct resident ive yet to be dissapointed. i have tried many dishes on the menu and i highly recomend the tangerine beef as well as the singapore chow mein fun. the location definatly brings this place down. they dont deliver but i think that makes them look classy bc this is a sit down restaraunt and very fancy looking on the inside with very friendly staff forcing you to come to them and well worth the trip. the genersl tso's chicken is pretty decent as well and the kung pao chicken is excellent some of the best ive tried which is a dish i will only order fom very few places being the fact that a lot of places dont make it correctly!!!!! its my opinion that any negative feedback this place recieves is most likly comeing from a harsh critic who wants to find something wrong with them but who knows everyone is entitled to express their feelings about their experience. i eat here on a regular basis and will continue to do so until a day comes that i find myself dissapointe

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Eileen October 10th, 2014

We met friends for lunch at the Great Taste in New Britian today. The food was great. The service and atmosphere made our lunch enjoyable. We will definitely go back

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ anonym user June 6th, 2014

My family has been coming here for over 20 years! Best Chinese food I have ever eaten! The atmosphere is wonderful and the staff is so friendly! Planning on going tomorrow!

⭐️ Maureen Burns April 4th, 2014

Maureen. I had the Great Taste Lobster which was Loster boiled and chopped to bits and chunks. Over pasta and beef with beef sauce flowing over it all. It was the Messiest thing I ever ate. You couldn't even hold the lobster . to crack it because it was dripping with beef juice all over you. NO GREAT TASTE HERE

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ G. March 3rd, 2014

March 8, 2014 Dear Great Taste: I just wanted to comment about your food. I recommended you to a coworker of mine. The daughter in law of my coworker was born and raised in China. She stated that your food was the closest to what you can get in China. Your food was very authentic and very good. In my experience, the worst order I have ever received from you was at least a hundred times better than any other Chinese food I have tasted. You are the Best! G

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Theresa March 3rd, 2014

I am a life long resident of New Britain and have enjoyed the food and service at Great Taste for over 25 years. Great Taste is New Britain's jewel. The food and service is top notch. From the moment you walk in the door it is a great dining experience

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Jean & Ruth December 12th, 2013

I've lived in California, and when I started eating at Great Taste, I found the food to be much better than anything I'd ever had. Most Chinese restaurants use a lot of salt in one form or another on their dishes. Great Taste serves good, wholesome food that is not laden with additives and salt. We've been patrons of Great Taste for over 10 years, and don't ever think of going elswhere

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Natalie D December 12th, 2013

We have been enjoying this amazing restaurant with it's incredible ser.vice for the past 5 winter holidays .This year was the absolute best time, along with the incredible food, the staff really make you feel as if your among family. Our children look forward to this tradition all year

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Bell K. July 7th, 2013

The lunch specials are very reasonable. I had the tangerine beef and it was by far the best I have ever tasted!! The wait staff served us right away and were very attentive. My husband enjoyed his egg drop soup and General Tao chicken. There were lots of leftovers (they give generous portions) but the hot weather prevented us from taking them as we had a couple other stops. We were very happy with our experience

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ marilyn a. July 7th, 2013

I' ve been going here forever, I refuse to entertain thought of eating at another Chinese Restaurant, and I have yet to be disappointed. Best part is they know me by name when I walk in and my order is always ready......and correct

⭐️ Max June 6th, 2013

i just wanted to say that this restaurant ROCKS. The food was excellent and the service was delightful. I would definately try it out if you havent already . You won't regret it. Amazing tim

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ thomas March 3rd, 2013

I just ate the catch of the day. Steamed whole fluke. Amazing!I'm a fisherman and catch fluke all summer long,but I've never done one this well. My compliments to the chef

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Ken January 1st, 2013

Best Chinese cuisine in Connecticut. Quality menu and carefully prepared dishes. Service is top notch. I have eaten at Great Taste for about 10 years, and it is always excellent

⭐️ Mary November 11th, 2012

First i wanna start off saying that the food was ok for the price you pay. They have a small bar area where you can actually see the waitors touching your garnishes like we didn't exisits. The drinks was not as good as i thought it was. I ordered a Mai Tai and they didn't even give me grenadine. The Mai Tai was horrible. NOT EVEN KIDDING. I told the waitress to replace my drink and she walked away like she didn't even hear me. Their service was disgusting. My waitress brought the food over and she never came back to even ask if i needed anything. Oh did i mention that she coundn't even speak English correctly. First time in Great taste and also my last time. This restaurant does not deserve any credit at all. -Mar

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Brenda May 5th, 2012

The best anywhere I've experienced. Love you guys!

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Elaine Mennillo March 3rd, 2012

This is by far my favorite Chinese food. The Tangerine beef is out of this world. I recommend that anyone visiting New Britain or the surrounding towns to stop in and enjoy the wonderful cuisine. Service is outstanding. Your water glass is filled constantly. No waiting. This out classes any other restaurant in chinese food by far. Class restaurant all the way

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Holly Beckham February 2nd, 2012

The food is always excellent and the staff is kind, curteous and extremely helpful. I would recommend it over ANY restaurant in New Britain and over any Chinese restaurant in Connecticut. Five stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Mikey g December 12th, 2011

The absolute best chinese restaurant my wife and I have ever been to, go there as often as we can. It is worth the trip once a month to cure our craving for chinese food. Thanks again. Keep up the good work, we will see you soon

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Joe Rivera October 10th, 2011

I go to this restaurant on special occassions. I've gone for birthdays and for my own anniversary. I love the atmosphere and the food is the best chinese food I have ever had. The prices are fair and the quality cannot be beat. The staff is friendly and very knowledgeable of their menu. The food always comes out promptly and best of all hot and delicious. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Stephen Wysocki September 9th, 2011

The Best service and food in the United States

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ anonym user August 8th, 2011

Mom you are the best mom inthe whol

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ August Paulson April 4th, 2011

Great taste really lives up to it's name the food tastes Great! although i have never dinned in yet the service is excellent. There is a very home like feeling to the restaurant that will keep you coming back again and agai

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Sam Chester January 1st, 2011

I just love dining at Great Taste. The whole experience is first class in every way. The cocktails are generous and well made. The food is beautifully and creatively prepared with the freshest of ingredients. The service is always prompt and professional. One is always made to feel very welcome here. Frank Kwok, the owner, is a great host and wonderful person. The atmosphere is tasteful with beautiful chandeliers and an elegantly set table awaiting you. The restaurant, to me, is as good as if not better than Shun Lee Palace in New york City where we often dine. I will return here time and time again

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ George Smalley December 12th, 2010

The best Chinese restaurant in the state! Food is great, and service is outstanding...the scorpion bowls aren't too shabby, either. ;-

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ anonym user December 12th, 2010

I ate at Great Taste for the first time this past Monday for dinner. Both the food and the service are top notch. I have told 4 people that your restaurant is a must visit and that it should be their next choice when going out to eat. Thank yo

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ anonym user November 11th, 2010

This is simply the best restaurant my wife and I have eaten in. Without a doubt, it has a wonderful atmosphere, the most gracious and attentive staff, relaxing and enjoyable ambiance, and absolutely the most wonderful food we have eaten. We have eaten at Great Taste several times in a week, we enjoy it and the staff so much. We recommend Great Taste to all who enjoy a wonderful, relaxing dining experience filled with the best in Chinese cuisine. Be sure to visit, and you will be sure to return over and over again. Enjoy!

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Jason October 10th, 2010

Great taste has the best chinese food in the state. Not only is the food great, but so too is the atmosphere. I bring my girlfriend and we enjoy a couple of drinks and a dinner special (Mt. Fuji is a favorite) and feel like we are treated like royalty. I would recommend to anyone

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ anonym user July 7th, 2010

Food is great. Highly recommend it

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Cree Kelly May 5th, 2010

My family has been going to the Great Taste ever since they opened and now that most of us have moved away, we still make an effort to get there anytime we are in the area. This restaurant has been consistent over the years at being one of the best Chinese restaurants you will find anywhere. New Britain has changed dramatically over the years while this restaurant has not. Unless you have family or a doctor there, you may be hard pressed to think of a reason to stop there, unless of course you are going to the Great Taste where you will never be disappointed. Trust me, the restaurant's name says it all

⭐️ anonym user March 3rd, 2010

I've been dining at Great Taste for a few years and have always wondered what all the fuss was about. I have never been that impressed other than the atmosphere when dining in the resaurant. I've ordered take out many times and 2 years ago was the last time because the Orange Chicken dish I ordered was barely edible because of all the orange rind. I've had Orange Chicken at other establishments in other states and know what to expect when ordering it. Tonight I thought I'd give Great Taste another try. I ordered Jumbo Shrimp with Szechuan this time. Again, I am very familiar with what to expect when ordering Szechaun style dishes. What I was served from Great Taste was NOTHING like any other Szechaun dish I've ever had. The sauce was red, hardly any heat at all and no where to be found the chopped hot peppers I've found in any other Szechuan dish. The meal was also overwhelmed with diced onions. All I can assume is the people in Connecticut have never had really good Chinese food, otherwise Great Taste would have been out of business long ago. I don't think there is any value for your money at all. If the food were even near being good I wouldn't mind paying their prices but it just isn't. Suffice it to say, I will not try them again. I'm finished with being disappointed every time

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ anonym user March 3rd, 2010

Amazing service and food. Best Chinese in CT

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Mary Susco March 3rd, 2010

I was out with relatives for my Aunt's 92nd birthday tonight. I have been by your restaurant many times but never stopped in. What a treat. I was very happy with my meal and your staff was very attentive to all of our needs. It was truly a pleasure. I will be back and I will tell my friends about my wonderful experience at your establishment. Sincerely, Mary Susc

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ pistike January 1st, 2010

Great restaurant

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Angela Read July 7th, 2009

Great Taste Chinese Restaurant has the highest quality of food I have ever eaten at a chinese restaurant. On my first visit I was surprised at its cleanliness, presentation and quality, that it is now the ONLY chinese restaurant I order from and visit. Their food quality is consistent and fresh. What a great find in New Britain, CT! Thank You. New Britain Residen

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Nicole June 6th, 2009

My husband and I have been going here since we were dating...we had our first date here back in 2001. We love the food whether your dining in or ordering to go, the service is always great. We have tried many chinese restaurants and Great Taste knocks them all out of the park...no one compares to the quality of food they provide to their customers. Each dish is beautiful..you can tell that the cook staff takes the time to make every dish just right from its appearance to the taste. The entire staff always has a smile on their face from the moment you walk in by saying hello and making sure to say good bye as you walk out the door. This family fun business unlike any other...customer service is definitely #1. Congrats to Great Taste for a job well done! Sincerely, Nicole B

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Christine Matlega April 4th, 2009

So far this is the best Chinese Restaurant in CT that I have found! They have a great "all inclusive menu"

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Dolavidson January 1st, 2009

I have been going to Great Taste for about 10 years. The atmosphere, food and especially the service is always great. It's fun for us to bring friends because they always enjoy it as much as we do

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Gerry December 12th, 2008

We are friends of Terri Guay and Fr. Ray Proulx. We have been to your restaurant on many occasions and have always had a wonderful meal. We have always been treated like royalty when we are with Terri and Fr. Ray. Our only complaint is that you don't have a restaurant closer to Waterbury. We would probably be there weekly. I just love the decorations that are made with the vegetables

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ silk126 October 10th, 2008

This is the best resturant in New Britain, CT The foods, and the tastes it so good, delicious, yummy! So I am giving it five star, and I believe you should comes here and see and have a good meal at "Great tastes" and you agree with me because it is so, so good. Best place to have chinses food, at Great Tastes. It is excellent foods, my favorite dish is Sliced Chicken and chicken wings. I really enjoy the atomshere and Peoples are so nice and friendly. It is Great, great foods there, and you will loved it too. ***** Five star restuarant at Great Tastes. Excellent

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ johnfan September 9th, 2008

We have been loyal customers of Great Taste since 1988. We love it! Whenever we want to take someone out to dinner we always choose Great Taste because we know we will never be disappointed. The service and food are impeccable. Whenever we go there we are treated like family! May of the same waiters have been there all these years and many are requested by name especially John, who brings service to an exceptionally high level. He greets us by our first names whenever we walk in. We hope to remain customers for another 25+ years

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ DENNISPS78 August 8th, 2008

Great Taste is by far the best Chinese restaurant my wife and I have ever dines in. The service is first class, the menu is varied and extensive. The waitstaff is very knowledgeable and friendly. An added bonus is the availability of many nutritious and healthy meal choices. An overall very enjoyable dining experience.